The Dudley-Hewitt Cup

The Dudley-Hewitt Cup is the trophy awarded to the the Central Canada Junior A Champion.  The trophy is currently decided by round robin tournament format, at the conclusion of the playoffs of the Ontario Junior Hockey League, Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, and Superior International Junior Hockey League, to determine the central seed to the Canadian Jr. A Championship.

The  Canadian National Junior A Championship and is competed for by teams within the Canadian Junior Hockey League.

The current format includes the champions of the OJHL, NOJHL and SIJHL and a pre-selected host city, but in the past has included the champions of the Central Canada Hockey League, Quebec Junior Hockey League, and even the champion of the Callaghan Cup (Atlantic Provinces).


The trophy is named after George Dudley and W.A. Hewitt, two pioneers of amateur hockey in Ontario.

The 2002 Dudley-Hewitt Cup marked a new chapter in Ontario hockey history.  Since the mid 1990's, the OPJHL and NOJHL squared off in a head-to-head series to determine the Central Canadian seed in the Royal Bank Cup.  In 2001, a new Thunder Bay area league, called the Superior International Junior Hockey League was founded.  Late in the 2001-02 season of the OPJHL and NOJHL, the CJAHL informed them that instead of a series the Dudley would be competed for through a round robin format.  


The Copeland-McNamara Trophy champions of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, the Bill Salonen Cup champions of the Superior International Junior Hockey League and the Buckland Cup Champions of the Ontario Junior Hockey League compete in a round robin hosted by a pre-determined city to determine the Central Canadian Junior A Champion.

The winner of the Dudley-Hewitt Cup moves on to compete for the Canadian Junior A National Championship.


Fort Frances Lakers Junior A Hockey Team
P.O. Box 76
Fort Frances, ON P9A 3M5

The Fort Frances Lakers Hockey Association/Board is a nonprofit organization operating the Fort Frances Lakers Junior ‘A’ Hockey Team;  a grassroots community owned and operated team!  Fort Frances, International Falls and the District are historically established in hockey history and we are constantly looking for opportunities to build on that history going forward.

Our volunteer pool is passionate about supporting a Junior A hockey team in the area.  You will be hard pressed to find a harder working core of dedicated volunteers!  Their collective drive and desire to sustain a competitive Junior A Hockey Team is unsurpassed and impressive.

Fort Frances Lakers Hockey Association/Board Goals

  1. Sustainability – Operate and sustain quality organized Junior ‘A’ hockey in the area.
  2. Financial Responsibility – Operate within a fiscally responsible budget.
  3. Acknowledgement – Continually acknowledge the support of our fans, fund raising supporters, sponsors & volunteers.
  4. Aspiration – Aspire as players and as an organization to grow as individuals and as a hockey team.
  5. Leadership – All Laker’s players and board members need to act as positive role models in the communities.
  6. Go-Local – Buy locally with the area communities to show support for area team stakeholders.

Fort Frances Lakers Association/Board

President:  Milt Strachan
Cell# 807-275-5255
email: mstrachan@fortfrances.ca   

Vice President: Wayne Allen

Treasurer: Ange Korzinski

Secretary: Amy Gushulak

Board Members: Jane Johnstone, Mary Polz,  Ria McPherson, Donna Handburg, Gord Hyatt, Melanie McPherson, Jody Maguire